Our Board of Directors

Jonathan Neale

Non – Executive Chairman
Chairman of the Nominations Committee

Find out more

Prior to becoming Non-Executive Chairman at Filtronic Jonathan Neale had been Chief Operating Officer of McLaren Group for the previous five years. Between 2001 and 2016, he held a number of executive positions, including Chief Executive Officer of McLaren Racing F1.

Prior to McLaren, Jonathan had been at BAE Systems, UK, as Managing Director – Hawk Military Aircraft.

Jonathan graduated from the University of Nottingham with an honours degree in physics and is a Fellow of the Institute of Directors; a council member of the charity The Foundation for Science and Technology; a Fellow of the Institute of Engineering and Technology; and a Chartered Engineer.

Richard Gibbs

Executive Director
Chief Executive Officer

Find out more

Richard Gibbs was appointed as Chief Executive Officer with effect from 1st September 2020.

Richard is an experienced director who has led a number of business operations supplying semiconductor, RF and electronics subsystems to the telecoms, aerospace, defence, medical and oil & gas markets. Richard joined Filtronic from Micross Components Ltd, a PE owned company, where he has been Managing Director since 2016.

Prior to his time at Micross, Richard spent nine years at E2V Technologies, where he was Group Sales & Marketing Director and President of the RF Product and Hi-Reliability Semiconductors Divisions, and 20 years with Honeywell, of which 10 years were spent managing overseas operations.

Michael Tyerman

Executive Director
Chief Financial Officer & Company Secretary

Find out more

Michael Tyerman was appointed as Chief Financial Officer with effect from 01 April 2016. He joined Filtronic in 2007 as Financial Controller of the Broadband business and was promoted to the position of Group Financial Controller in 2009. He served this position until his appointment to the Board.

‍Prior to joining Filtronic, Michael held various positions within Procter and Gamble, Huntsman Polyurethanes and Komatsu which included time working in the Benelux and Nordic regions.

Michael is a Chartered Management Accountant.

Pete Magowan

Non-Executive Director
Chairman of the Remuneration Committee

Find out more

Peter (Pete) Magowan was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on 19 November 2018 and as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee in March 2019.

‍Pete is a Non-Executive Director of Solid State Group plc. He was previously an early employee and main board member of ARM Holdings, an Executive at Fidelity International Ltd and General Partner at Alta Berkeley Venture Partners.

Pete´s early operational career was in sales and marketing at leading technology companies. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology and a Diploma in Marketing from the University of Bristol Business School.

John Behrendt

Non-Executive Director
Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee

Find out more

John Behrendt was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on 1st January 2021

John has over thirty years of experience in a combination of executive and non-executive roles and qualified as an accountant with the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA).

He was Head of Principal Investments with Eight Roads, part of the Fidelity network of companies, from 2015 until January 2020. John has held a number of leadership and operational roles, including, as CEO of Optegra, an international health care company; as CEO/CFO of Frontier Silicon Limited, a VC backed supplier of components/software for mobile devices and digital audio markets; as CFO for Teraview Limited, an instrumentation devices company operating in the pharmaceutical and defence markets; and as CFO for Alphamosaic Limited, a VC backed fabless chip company.